Trials and Tribulations of a New User

Hello All! New user here. Thought I would post some thoughts on getting my “systm” up and running.

First a bit about me and where I am coming from. I am a retired System Admin, primarily MS Windows. I grew to hate Windows and still do. In my personal life, I run Mac and Linux. As I got closer to retirement, I became an application administrator in order to get away from the data center, modern hardware (boring) and Windows Server.

If you want to skip my rant about getting things working in Windows, skip to End Rant

As I thought through how I wanted to get Systm onto a big screen, it occurred to me that the easiest way might be to put Windows on a spare PC. (I don’t have any extra Apple stuff lying about and System doesn’t run on Linux).

More about my setup. I have a Kickr, Climb, and Headwind and run Systm on Windows 10. First workout went OK. ERG mode is strange at first, but did some more reading and found shifting not necessary for most part. Seems I just hit the RPM marks and let the system do the rest. I found cadence lagging, so I decided to throw a spare wahoo cadence sensor in the mix. (Did I mention I was also running my Elemnt head unit also?). More on why, later.

On workout two, the kickr, cadence and HRM all came up, but I could not get sound to work, but after troubleshooting windows, I decided to look around in the app and the darn music slider was off. Not sure if I inadvertently did that or not, but after that, the HRM and cadence would not work. They were connected to the Elemnt though.

Needless to say, I was frustrated at this point, so I just said F#%& it and did the workout. Planned on using the head unit to upload file with all my metrics to Strava, RideWithGPS and Dropbox as normal, but when I finished the ride, I realized in my frustration I forgot to press START on the head unit.